A Change of Focus

20140726-195323.jpg

I’ve admittedly been a bit absent from my blog lately – my summer work schedule has been kicking my butt as usual, and add to that all this crazy new parent/new baby stuff…well, blogging hasn’t been particularly high on my list. Not only hasn’t it been high on my list, it’s started to feel like a chore…which is NOT how i want to proceed with my writing!

I’ve always been adamant about the importance of a work/life balance. In fact, it was one of the deciding factors for moving away from the City! And my free time is even more precious now – family comes first, and the last thing I want is to feel “obligated” to work on my blog when I could be directing that attention towards my son.

Of course, I am occasionally resentful that I no longer seem to have any time to myself anymore, to pursue any of my favorite hobbies. I’m now working through how to create a me/family balance: Both through continuing my pursuits with the Big Bun in tow (taking a walk in the woods, for example), or bringing in extra help so that I can have an evening (or even an entire DAY, can you imagine?) free to…well do ANYTHING that isn’t work or baby related!

So, in short, that’s why I’ll be taking a short hiatus from A Green(ish) Life. It’s by no means a dead project, but I don’t feel I can give it the focus it deserves. And perhaps when I have more time, more sleep, more concentration, more help, more desire to bring my attention back to it, I will. Then again, if becoming a parent has taught me anything, it’s that life is unpredictable…and who knows which way the wind will blow in the future!

Stay tuned. And keep it green(ish)!

One response to “A Change of Focus

Share Your Green(ish) Thoughts!